In Which I Cave and Go Mainstream

Perhaps you didn’t know this about me, because why would you, but I make it rain. Not unlike Fat Joe (why yes, yes I did have to look up who does that song. What of it?).

But seriously. I started work this week, which means taking the train into the city, and when I do that, it rains. Every time. Last summer, I brought my rain coat and umbrella every day, even on days when there was no rain in the forecast and it was sunny outside, because I knew once whoever is in charge of the rain found out I was walking from the train station to my office, it would pour (perhaps you remember this post from way back when).

Really all I’m trying to say is that I’m sorry for this bad weather we’ve been having.

My next point is unrelated: I started knitting a Citron. The knitters are all, “so what, everyone’s knit a Citron.” And the non-knitters are all, “so what?” The thing is, I never intended to knit one. Not because I didn’t like the pattern, because I have since Knitty released it. It’s just that EVERYONE knits them. Which is not to say I’m such a little hipster that I won’t partake in a mainstream pattern, because ew. I just got sick of hearing about how easy it was, and how fast it was, and what a perfect stashbuster it was.

Because naturally those are all horrible things. :/

But I had this skein of Cactus Rose Malabrigo Lace that’s just been kicking it in my stash for about a year and a half. I tried to knit an Estonian lace stole from it, but college is hard and I only got about two rows into it before I had to go read Edith Wharton. Not to mention that every time I go to the yarn store, I SOMEHOW end up with another skein of my favorite laceweight merino wool, which is why I happen to have a skein of it that I believe is called Surf that I bought because it looked too soft to leave behind (which is why I’ve never been to an animal shelter, coincidentally).

I have a really big secret project that I’m currently working on, and it’s a bitch to try to take on the train, or in the car, or to baseball games, plus I can’t knit it in front of people, given that it is a secret and all that. I needed a pattern that was small and easy, and that used up my Malabrigo Lace stash.

I think you know what happened from there.

This picture is also helpful if you were ever wondering what my knees look like in jeans. They look like this.

Posted on May 18, 2011, in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

