In Which There is Shame in the Delay

Hey guys! I have a whole lot of super fantastic things going on that I can’t blog about just yet. Soon. I hope.

Until then, I found a whole bunch of knitwear that I made first semester, and forgot to blog about until now. So I made some web cam art, and waited for WordPress to get over it’s little freak out so I could show them off. LUCKY YOU!

First up:

Please ignore the awesome red mark on my nose. My glasses cut my face. Shit happens.

Sometimes the back of your head just looks better than the front. I gave up on make up pretty much as soon as I found a man. Lucky him!

Pattern: Selbu Modern Beret
Yarn: Knit Picks Palette

Verdict: I started making it in early October, mostly in my publishing class, where the 15 minute break the professor gave us in the middle made up most of my free time for the week. That turned out to be the greatest class I ever took, so I really only have good memories of this hat.

Fun Fact: I never wore it. No explanation as to why, I just apparently boycotted hats this winter. Like I’m six or something and don’t understand cold weather gear. Whatever. I only got sixteen colds and one case of strep all winter, so no harm, no foul.

Next:

I'm a fish. Obviously.

Pattern: Susie’s Reading Mitts (OMJeepers! That’s my name!  Sort of. I promise I’m smart.)
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted (Only yarn worth working with. People who disagree are wrong. They’re entitled to their opinions, as long as they know said opinions are wrong.)

Verdict: So good! I wear them in place of real gloves and mittens for the most part, because the Malabrigo is so cozy my hands stay warm enough without needing fingers. I decided not to fold down the top and bottom sections as the pattern says to, so they don’t look as lacy as they’re supposed to. But I knew I would mess them up if I tried to hem something precarious like that.

And finally:

It's suprisingly hard to get a picture that shows off the knitwear while also not making you look like a man. Pretty sure this picture doesn't accomplish that. But there's only so much I can do. STOP CHIDING ME!

Pattern: Le Slouch (Pattern is no longer available)
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted

Okay. This is an embarrassing one to post. I made this two years ago, and wore it all the time. Not this year, because of my surprise aversion to being warm, but before that I wore it all the time. I just never got around to writing about it, or taking a picture of it. I’ve certainly had time. I have no excuse. Just shame.

The shame is driving me to bite my nails. Should stop. Have to get my fingers looking pretty.

 

Posted on March 23, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The knit wear all looks amazing. I believe your choice of not wearing the winter gear stems from the man in your life keeping you warm instead. Its a just a theory but something to seriously think about (as opposed to other important things in your life).

  2. I especially love that Selbu hat. I understand not wearing stuff you make sometimes. I made an adorable colorwork beanie once and then never wore it and gave it away. Maybe I should try again… But then again, the fun of knitting is the fun of making it, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

