In Which an Account of Christmas Knitting is Delayed, But Finally Here!

Last Christmas (as in 2008.  Clarification is necessary, as this post is so delayed that one could logically assume I mean 2009.  Maybe one day my blogging skills will be up to par!) was the first Christmas that I was a skilled enough knitter to make gifts for everyone I knew.  I also had a lot of time on my hands, since I just started college, had no job, and took all general education classes.  Everyone got hats, except for my mother, who I made a lace scarf for.

This Christmas (as in 2009), I was writing anywhere from two to five papers a week, reading at least 400 pages of stories and essays, and working 15 hours.  I originally planned to make everyone gloves and mittens, but there was no way that was ever going to happen.  I did, however, get a few projects done for the people who either specifically asked for them, or who I just didn’t know what else to get them.

First up is my roommate, who I didn’t know last year, and therefore did not receive a Star Crossed Slouchy Beret, which is the pattern I made for everyone, about eight people.  She requested one in purple, and while I don’t have a picture, I assure you it is adorable.  She is one of those people that looks unfairly cute in everything, so you can imagine.

For my mother, I usually have gift ideas, but this year I was apparently off my game.  And when I’m stuck for ideas, gifts or otherwise, I work it out with a skein of Malabrigo.

Pattern: Lace and Twist Gloves by Silka Burgoyne
Yarn: Malabrigo Sock Yarn in Violeta Africana
Mods: Just finger length.

I love these gloves.  Gloves are just fun to make in general, and these are both simple and elegant at the same time.  All in all, a success!

Finally, mittens for my grandmother:

Pattern: Chevalier Mittens by Mari Muinonen
Yarn: Cascade 220
Mods: If I remember correctly, I took out some of the optional rows, but now I don’t know which ones, if any.

Last year, I made a hat for my other grandmother, but since I’ve never seen this grandmother wear any sort of winter accessory, I just assumed she didn’t want one.  Naturally, I was wrong, so to make up for it, I made her these mittens.  She loves them, and keeps sending me letters telling me so, which is nice.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone so excited about something I knit them, so they were worth it even if she doesn’t end up wearing them that much.  That pattern itself was very easy to follow, and went quickly.  I was running late with them, as their creation coincided with finals week, so I had to finish the fingers in the car on the way to her house, then knit the thumbs while I was there.  It worked out okay, though, because that way I could tell how long the thumbs needed to be.

Posted on January 23, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

