In Which I Am Unlike Laura Ingalls Wilder

When I was younger, I tried very very hard to keep a diary.  I was really into Little House on the Prairie, and had the idea that if I ever wanted to write a book about my life, I would probably want a record of my childhood to better remember what happened.

This was, of course, not taking into account the fact that my childhood had no noteworthy events surrounding it that would warrant the need for a book.  Laura Ingalls Wilder, for instance, never wrote installments of her books based on diary entries written by her 10-year-old self that went something like this:

“Dear Diary,
Today I played in the snow with my sister.  It was fun until Mary hit me in the head with a snowball and didn’t even get in trouble.  SHE DRIVES ME CRAZY!!!!!
More tomorrow!
Love,
Laura
P.S. I love Almanzo.  Whyyyyyyy won’t he notice me?????!?!??!????”

Which is basically how my diary entries went, with the substitution of her sister for my brother, and Almanzo for whichever 10-year-old was my soul mate that particular week.

The problem with keeping a diary is that there is no audience.  I found that dreadfully unentertaining, and therefore hardly ever kept up with it.  Enter the invention of blogs.  A diary with an audience (supposedly and hopefully).  What a novel idea.  Except for, oh wait, once I went to college, I didn’t update my blog but once or twice.  Oops.  Time for another change.

People change, and whatever form of record keeping they choose to keep should change with them.  Which is why I started this brand-spankin’-new blog.   I used my old blog for about a year and a half, and I really just needed a fresh start.  I worked really hard to put together this new one, and I’m very excited about it.

As this blog will primarily be a knitting blog, I thought it was only appropriate that I start with pictures of a project I just recently finished:

100_1218

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pattern: Fountain Pen Shawl by Susan Lawrence (Rav link only)
Yarn: Cascade Yarns Alpaca Lace in Amethyst Heather
Needles: US 6 circulars
Mods: 7 repeats, and left out the border chart all together.  I wanted more of a scarf than a shawl.
Final Thoughts: Severely awesome!  I’m very into lace lately, and this is a perfect example of how lace opens up when it’s blocked.  I’ve knit many a lace accessory, and I was still shocked by how different it looked post-blocking.

100_1222

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would say that I can’t wait until it’s cold enough to wear it, but it’s been so unseasonable here that for all I know it could be cold enough tomorrow.  And I don’t wish for that.  That’s a little too bizarre even for New England.

Posted on July 27, 2009, in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. very pretty! Your lace is gorgeous! I haven’t ventured in to anything that complicated yet. 🙂 I like yours a lot!

  2. Gosh, your shawl looks really beautiful! Clever you. 🙂

  3. Beautiful shawl! The color brings out the pattern, I think.

    Commentary on blogs in general: I have a journal that’s intended to be for writing down scenes and ideas for short stories, and hopefully for a novel… it’s pretty much turned into a diary, where I ramble vaguely about life without going into what actually happens. It’s weird. The lack of audience is a good thing, for it–I keep thinking someone’s going to read it and lock me in the loony bin!

  4. fallingangelica

    I love the shawl and great first post. I like your banner picture. I like your story too

  5. I’m not much good at diaries or journals either.
    Lovely shawl. I live in NE as well, and it’s been a wild summer. Never saw so much thunder and lightening.

  6. Great job on your shawl/scarf! Also, glad to hear you’ve started this new blog. I stalked your other one – your writing (and style of humor) is fun to read… 🙂

Leave a Reply

